The Cradle
Düsseldorf

The Cradle
Düsseldorf

The Cradle: Sustainable office building
in Düsseldorf

The Cradle is the first timber hybrid office building in Düsseldorf. Its wood-concrete construction is realised with a holistic sustainability concept through a striking, diamond-shaped facade of glass and wood, which gives the building its unique appearance. The three basement floors and the ground floor will be made of concrete, five full storeys and a staggered storey of wood. This will create a total of 5,200 m² of office space and 600 m² of space for gastronomy. The name “The Cradle” is inspired by the Cradle to Cradle principle, according to which the building is constructed. This ensures that as far as possible all components remain in the biological or technical cycle. This means, among other things, that dismantling and the possibilities for further use or re-use are already planned before assembly. This special building already won several awards during the construction phase.

The Cradle
at a glance

Deconstructable wooden structures
from DERIX

The special look of the building facade is created by trusses made of glulam (larch) in combination with glass. The trusses are aligned in their shape and size so that they additionally serve as sun protection. The internal supports and beams are partly made of purchased construction beech and partly of glulam (spruce). X-LAM (spruce) is used for the ceiling structures. There are no glued connections, only screw and plug-in connections, which allow easy dismantling.
Building project The Cradle, Speditionsstraße 2, 40221 Düsseldorf,
www.the-cradle.de
Construction Wood hybrid
Completion planned 2022
Usable space brutto approx. 10,400 m2
Volume of the wooden components approx. 2,200 m3
Stored CO2 1,677 tCO2
Avoided CO2 1,551 tCO2
Regrowth speed in german forests 66 minutes
Building owner Projektentwicklungsgesellschaft Speditionstraße mbH& Co. KG c/o INTERBODEN Innovative Gewerbewelten GmbH & Co. KG, www.interboden.de
Statics SJB Ingenieure (CH)
3-D model Design To Production (CH)
Architects HPP Architekten GmbH, D-Düsseldorf, www.hpp.com
Manufacture, delivery and assembly of the wooden elements DERIX-Group

Prizes & Awards
for The Cradle

Heinze
ArchitektenAWARD 2020

In 2020, The Cradle was a prize winner at the Heinze ArchitektenAWARD.

Iconic
Awards 2018

The Cradle building won the 2018 Iconic Awards in the Innovative Architecture category.

MIPIM/AR
Future Project Awards 2018

The Cradle was the winner at the MIPIM/The Architectural Review Future Project Awards in 2018.

The advantages of wood
in The Cradle

The building facade of The Cradle is made almost entirely of solid wood elements. The use of wood as a building material thus minimises the use of conventional materials such as plastic and concrete. The Cradle to Cradle principle was consistently applied in the design of the building. Its deconstructability and the resulting possibilities for reuse make the office building a circular and sustainable property. The solid wood interior supports also ensure healthy indoor air in the office and thus a pleasant working atmosphere.

Downloads
for reference

Holzkurier: Gold certification level achieved

16 December 2021

Download

Holz-Zentralblatt: Timber construction presence among urban and project developers

October 2021 • Armin Seidel

Download

Digital total? Yes and No

February 2022 • Be. K.

Read article

Further
topics

Individual glulam

With our glulam, individual constructions can be built, because we produce the components in almost any shape and size – entirely according to your wishes. The kiln-dried wooden boards are joined together by finger-jointing to form long lamellas. Discover our diverse range of glulam.

Solid and versatile element construction

Whether roof, ceiling or wall – X-LAM can be used in a variety of ways. Our X-LAM element construction gives you great freedom in building design. The flexibly usable elements made of cross laminated timber are custom-made for you and can be assembled quickly and easily.

Office and administration building made of wood

Learn more about building office and administration buildings from wood.

Gastro and event building made of wood

Learn more about constructing catering and event buildings from wood.

DERIX
Find your contact person

Your partner for timber construction

With DERIX as a strong partner at your side, you will implement your construction projects sustainably and efficiently.

DERIX
Premium

Exclusive services, newsletter & Co.

Register now and get exclusive access to extensive specialist content. Use our helpful digital service tools such as our X-LAM Designer and stay well informed with our newsletter.

The Cradle
Düsseldorf

The Cradle
Düsseldorf

The Cradle: Nachhaltiges Bürogebäude
in Düsseldorf

The Cradle ist das erste Holz-Hybrid-Büro­gebäude in Düsseldorf. Seine Holz-Beton-Kon­struktion wird mit einem ganz­heit­lichen Nach­haltig­keits­konzept durch eine markante, rauten­förmige Fassade aus Glas und Holz realisiert, die dem Gebäude seine einzig­artige Optik gibt. Die drei Unter­geschosse sowie das Erdge­schoss werden aus Beton, fünf Vollge­schosse und ein Staffel­geschoss aus Holz errichtet. Insgesamt ent­stehen so 5.200 m² Büro­fläche und 600 m² Fläche für Gastro­nomie. Der Name „The Cradle“ ist inspiriert vom Cradle to Cradle Prinzip, nach dessen Grundlagen das Gebäude gebaut wird. So wird sicher­gestellt, dass weitest­gehend alle Bau­teile im bio­logischen oder technischen Kreis­lauf ver­bleiben. Dies bedeutet unter anderem, dass die Demontage sowie die Möglich­keiten zur Weiter- oder Wieder­nutzung bereits vor der Montage geplant werden. Dieses besondere Gebäude wurde bereits während der Bau­phase mehr­fach ausge­zeichnet.

The Cradle
im Überblick

Rückbaubare Holzkonstruktionen
von DERIX

Die besondere Optik der Gebäude­fassade wird durch Fachwerke aus BSH (Lärche) in Kombi­nation mit Glas erzeugt. Die Fach­werke sind in ihrer Form und Größe so aus­gerichtet, dass sie zusätz­lich als Sonnen­schutz dienen. Die Innen­stützen und Unter­züge sind teils aus einge­kaufter BauBuche und teils aus BSH (Fichte). Für die Decken­konstruk­tionen wird X-LAM (Fichte) ver­wendet. Es gibt keine ver­klebten Verbin­dungen, sondern aus­schließ­lich Schraub- und Steck­verbin­dungen, die einen ein­fachen Rück­bau ermög­lichen.
Bauvorhaben The Cradle, Speditionsstraße 2, 40221 Düsseldorf,
www.the-cradle.de
Bauweise Holz-Hybrid
Fertigstellung geplant 2022
Brutto-Grundfläche ca. 10.400 m2
Volumen der Holzbauteile ca. 2.200 m3
Gespeichertes CO2 1677 tCO2
Vermiedenes CO2 1551 tCO2
Nachwuchsgeschwindigkeit in deutschen Wäldern 66 Minuten
Bauherr Projektentwicklungsgesellschaft Speditionstraße mbH& Co. KG c/o INTERBODEN Innovative Gewerbewelten GmbH & Co. KG, www.interboden.de
Statik SJB Ingenieure (CH)
3-D Modell Design To Production (CH)
Architektur HPP Architekten GmbH, D-Düsseldorf, www.hpp.com
Fertigung, Lieferung und Montage der Holzelemente DERIX-Gruppe

Preise & Auszeichnungen
für The Cradle

Heinze
ArchitektenAWARD 2020

Im Jahr 2020 war The Cradle Preisträger beim Heinze ArchitektenAWARD.

Iconic
Awards 2018

Das Gebäude The Cradle gewann 2018 bei den Iconic Awards in der Kategorie Innovative Architecture.

MIPIM/AR
Future Project Awards 2018

The Cradle war im Jahr 2018 der Gewinner bei den MIPIM/The Architectural Review Future Project Awards.

Die Vorteile durch
Holz im The Cradle

Die Ge­bäude­fassade von The Cradle ist nahezu kom­plett aus Massiv­holz­elemen­ten gefertigt. Damit mini­miert der verwendete Baustoff Holz den Einsatz her­kömm­licher Materialien wie Kunst­stoff und Beton. Das Cradle to Cradle Prinzip wurde bei der Kon­zeption des Gebäudes konse­quent angewendet. Seine Rückbau­fähigkeit und die hierdurch ent­steh­enden Möglich­keiten der Wieder­ver­wendung machen das Büro­gebäu­de zu einer zirkulären und nach­haltigen Immo­bilie. Die Innen­stützen aus Massiv­holz sorgen außerdem im Büro für eine gesund­heits­fördernde Raumluft und damit eine ange­nehme Arbeits­atmo­sphäre.

Downloads
zur Referenz

Holzkurier: Zertifizierungslevel Gold erreicht

16. Dezember 2021

Herunterladen

Holz-Zentralblatt: Holzbau-Präsenz unter Stadt- und Projektentwicklern

Oktober 2021 • Armin Seidel

Herunterladen

Digital total? Ja und Nein

Februar 2022 • Be. K.

Artikel lesen

Weiterführende
Themen

Individuelles Brettschichtholz

Mit unserem Brett­schicht­holz (BSH) lassen sich indivi­duelle Kon­struk­tionen bauen, denn die Bau­teile stellen wir in nahezu jeder Form und Größe her – ganz nach Ihren Wün­schen. Die technisch ge­trock­neten Holz­bretter werden dafür durch Keil­zinkung zu langen La­mel­len zusammen­gefügt. Entdecken Sie unser viel­fältiges Brett­schicht­holz.

Massiver und vielfältiger Elementbau

Ob Dach, Decke oder Wand – X-LAM ist viel­fältig einsetz­bar. Unser X-LAM Element­bau gibt Ihnen große Frei­heiten bei der Ge­bäude­gestaltung. Die flexibel einsetz­baren Elemente aus Brett­sperrholz werden maß­geschneidert für Sie her­gestellt und lassen sich schnell und einfach montieren.

Büro- und Verwaltungsgebäude aus Holz

Erfahren Sie mehr über das Bauen von Büro- und Ver­waltungs­gebäuden aus Holz.

Gastro- und Eventgebäude aus Holz

Erfahren Sie mehr über das Bauen von Gastro- und Event­gebäuden aus Holz.

DERIX
Ansprechpartner finden

Ihr Partner für den Holzbau

Mit DERIX als starkem Partner an Ihrer Seite setzen Sie Ihre Bauprojekte nachhaltig und effizient um.

DERIX
Premium

Exklusive Services, Newsletter & Co.

Registrieren Sie sich jetzt und erhalten Sie exklusiven Zugriff auf umfangreiche Fachinhalte. Nutzen Sie unsere hilfreichen, digitalen Service-Tools wie unseren X-LAM Designer und bleiben Sie mit unserem Newsletter gut informiert.