Triodos Bank
Driebergen-Rijsenburg (NL)

Triodos Bank
Driebergen-Rijsenburg (NL)

Triodos Bank
Driebergen-Rijsenburg (NL)

Triodos Bank
in Driebergen-Rijsenburg

A fully sustainable office building was built in Driebergen-Rijsenburg in the Netherlands: Triodos Bank. The location of the building is the De Reehorst estate, which focuses on the protection of nature and a harmony between nature, economy and culture. The basic shape of the building is amoeba-like – based on the flight paths of the bats that are based there. In keeping with the concept of the location, nature has also been given the leading role in the newly built office building: Planted roofs, animal-friendly details and the sustainable and natural building material wood are just some of the environmentally conscious aspects of the building project.

Triodos Bank
at a glance

Three towers
made from wood

Triodos Bank in Driebergen-Rijsenburg consists of three towers of different heights, these are connected alternately on the ground floor and on the first two floors. The timber construction consists of L-shaped glulam trusses that cantilever around the building cores like a mushroom. The stairwells, light wells and installation shafts are also built of wood.
Building project Triodos Bank, Hoofstraat 14b, Driebergen-Rijsenburg, Niederlande
Construction X-LAM and glulam
Start of construction September 2017
Completion March 2019
Volume of the wooden components More than 2,600 m³
Stored CO2 1,982 tCO2
Avoided CO2 2,379 tCO2
Regrowth speed in german forests 78 minutes
Client J.P. van Eesteren, www.jpvaneesteren.nl
Building owner Join / OVG
Owner Triodos Bank Zeist, www.triodos.nl
Architects Rau architecten, www.rau.eu
Engineering office main statics Arohnson in Rotterdam, www.aronsohn.nl
Engineering office wood construction ABT in Velp, www.abt.eu
Production and assembly of the wooden elements DERIX-Group

Customer
testimonials

The care in production and execution
exceeded the most secret wishes.

When we decided on a wooden building in the design process for the new head office of Triodos Bank NL, no one had any idea of the new dimensions that would be involved. It was new territory for everyone involved and sometimes very uncomfortable. In the DERIX-Group we found a partner who, thanks to its many years of experience, was able to give the parties involved comfort at all levels in a situation that was uncomfortable for them. Not only were we given excellent advice, but the care taken in production and execution exceeded even the most secret wishes. The experience of working not only with one company but with a “timber family” was particularly pleasant. A family business that has incorporated and internalised the “wood path” into their DNA for decades. The DERIX family.

Thomas Rau • Architect and founder of Turntoo and RAU

Prizes & Awards
for Triodos Bank

BREEAM
Awards 2021

Triodos Bank won the BREEAM Award in the Commercial Projects Post Construction category in 2021.

Architectenweb
Awards 2019

Triodos Bank was named Office Building of the Year at the 2019 Architectenweb Awards ceremony.

Cobouw
Awards 2019

Triodos Bank was named the most sustainable project of 2019.

Further
awards

Vogelbescherming Nederland en Zoogdiervereniging Award “Nature Compatible Building and Design” 2019
Duurzaam Bouwen Award ‘Most Sustainable Project in the Netherlands 2020

The advantages of wood
at Triodos Bank

In addition to the design of the building, the building material for this project in the Netherlands also had to be in harmony with nature. Thus, the choice fell on the ecological and sustainable building material wood: more than 2,600 m³ of glulam and X-LAM was used in the Triodos Bank – almost 100 % wood content is included in the main structure of the building. Deconstructability also played a decisive role in the choice of material: Due to the screw connections, the wooden construction can be completely deconstructed.

Sustainable
in every detail

De Reehorst Estate, the location of Triodos Bank, pursues the vision of a balance between nature, culture and economy. Therefore, this new building also follows this vision – it is completely sustainable. The wood used makes it rebuildable and modular. In addition, the building is completely energy-neutral thanks to the heat and cold storage tanks and the “PV systems”. The glass facade provides daylight throughout the building and the interior walls are also largely transparent to retain daylight and save energy for lighting. Triodos Bank’s green roofs not only have an insulating and cooling effect, but are also insect-friendly. Other animals such as bats and birds also benefit from integrated nest boxes.

Downloads
for reference

Holzbau Austria: 2623 m³ of wood on account

01. October 2021 • Birgit Gruber

Download

Mikado: Wooden cathedral with a sustainable mission

December 2010 • Christine Ryll

Download

Further
topics

Individual glulam

With our glulam, individual constructions can be built, because we produce the components in almost any shape and size – entirely according to your wishes. The kiln-dried wooden boards are joined together by finger-jointing to form long lamellas. Discover our diverse range of glulam.

Solid and versatile element construction

Whether roof, ceiling or wall – X-LAM can be used in a variety of ways. Our X-LAM element construction gives you great freedom in building design. The flexibly usable elements made of cross laminated timber are custom-made for you and can be assembled quickly and easily.

Office and administration building made of wood

Learn more about the construction of office and administration buildings from wood.

DERIX
Find your contact person

Your partner for timber construction

With DERIX as a strong partner at your side, you will implement your construction projects sustainably and efficiently.

DERIX
Premium

Exclusive services, newsletter & Co.

Register now and get exclusive access to extensive specialist content. Use our helpful digital service tools such as our X-LAM Designer and stay well informed with our newsletter.

Triodos Bank
Driebergen-Rijsenburg (NL)

Triodos Bank
Driebergen-Rijsenburg (NL)

Triodos Bank
Driebergen-Rijsenburg (NL)

Triodos Bank
in Driebergen-Rijsenburg

In Driebergen-Rijsenburg in den Niederlanden wurde ein voll­ständig nach­haltiges Büro­gebäude gebaut: die Triodos Bank. Der Standort des Gebäudes ist das Landgut De Reehorst, welches den Fokus auf den Schutz der Natur sowie einer Harmonie zwischen Natur, Wirtschaft und Kultur setzt. Die Grund­form des Gebäudes ist amöben­artig – angelehnt an die Flug­bahnen der Fleder­mäuse, die dort angesiedelt sind. Ganz nach dem Konzept des Stand­ortes, hat man auch bei dem neu gebauten Büro­gebäude der Natur die Haup­trolle überlassen: Bepflanzte Dächer, tier­freundliche Details sowie der nach­haltige und natürliche Baustoff Holz sind nur einige der umwelt­bewussten Aspekte des Bauprojektes.

Triodos Bank
im Überblick

Drei Türme
aus Holz

Die Triodos Bank in Driebergen-Rijsenburg besteht aus drei unter­schiedlich hohen Türmen, diese sind abwechselnd im Erd­geschoss und in den ersten beiden Etagen mit­einander verbunden. Die Holz­kon­struk­tion besteht aus L-förmigen BSH-Bindern, die wie bei einem Champignon um die Gebäude­kerne auskragen. Auch die Treppen­­häuser, Licht­schächte und Instal­lations­schächte sind aus Holz gebaut.
Bauvorhaben Triodos Bank, Hoofstraat 14b, Driebergen-Rijsenburg, Niederlande
Bauweise X-LAM und BSH
Baubeginn September 2017
Fertigstellung März 2019
Volumen der Holzbauteile Mehr als 2.600 m³
Gebundenes CO2 in der Konstruktion 1982 tCO2
Vermiedenes CO2 2379 tCO2
Nachwuchsgeschwindigkeit in deutschen Wäldern 78 Minuten
Auftraggeber J.P. van Eesteren, www.jpvaneesteren.nl
Bauherr Join / OVG
Inhaber Triodos Bank Zeist, www.triodos.nl
Architektur Rau architecten, www.rau.eu
Ingenieurbüro Hauptstatik Arohnson in Rotterdam, www.aronsohn.nl
Ingenieurbüro Holzkonstruktion ABT in Velp, www.abt.eu
Fertigung und Montage der Holzelemente DERIX-Gruppe

Unsere
Kundenstimmen

Die Sorgfältigkeit in der Produktion und Ausführung
übertraf die geheimsten Wünsche.

Als wir im Entwurfs­prozess für die neue Haupt­geschäfts­stelle der Triodos Bank NL uns für einen Holz­bau entschieden hatten, ahnte noch niemand, welche neuen Dimen­sionen hiermit verbunden sind. Für alle Beteiligten war es Neuland und manchmal sehr unkom­fortabel. In der DERIX- Gruppe haben wir dann einen Partner gefunden, der aufgrund seiner lang­jährigen Erfahrung, den Beteiligten auf allen Ebenen Komfort geben konnte, in einer für sie unkom­fortablen Situation. Nicht nur sind wir ausgezeichnet beraten worden, auch übertraf die Sorg­fältigkeit in der Produk­tion und Aus­führung die geheimsten Wünsche. Besonders angenehm war die Erfahrung nicht nur mit einem Unter­nehmen zu arbeiten, sondern mit einer „Holzfamilie“. Ein Familien­unter­nehmen, das den „Holzweg“ seit Jahr­zehnten in ihre DNA auf­genommen und verin­nerlicht hat. Die DERIX-Familie.

Thomas Rau • Architekt und Gründer von Turntoo und RAU

Preise & Auszeichnungen
für die Triodos Bank

BREEAM
Awards 2021

Die Triodos Bank gewann im Jahr 2021 den BREEAM Award in der Kategorie Commercial Projects Post Construction.

Architectenweb
Awards 2019

Bei der Preis­ver­leihung des Architectenweb Award 2019 wurde die Triodos Bank als Büro­gebäude des Jahres ausgezeichnet.

Cobouw
Awards 2019

Die Triodos Bank wurde als nach­haltigstes Projekt des Jahres 2019 ausgezeichnet.

Weitere
Auszeichnungen

Vogelbescherming Nederland en Zoogdiervereniging Award „Naturverträgliches Bauen und Entwerfen“ 2019
Duurzaam Bouwen Award „Nachhaltigstes Projekt in den Niederlanden 2020“

Die Vorteile durch Holz
in der Triodos Bank

Neben der Gestaltung des Gebäudes sollte bei diesem Projekt in den Niederlanden auch das Bau­material im Einklang mit der Natur stehen. Somit fiel die Wahl auf den öko­logischen und nach­haltigen Bau­stoff Holz: Mehr als 2.600 m³ Brett­schicht­holz und X-LAM wurde in der Triodos Bank verbaut – fast 100 % Holz­anteil sind in der Haupt­struktur des Gebäudes enthalten. Auch die Rück­bau­fähigkeit spielte eine entschei­dende Rolle bei der Material­wahl: Durch die Schraub­ver­bindungen ist die Holz­kon­struk­tion komplett rückbaubar.

Nachhaltig
bis ins Detail

Das Landgut De Reehorst, der Standort der Triodos Bank, verfolgt die Vision eines Gleich­gewichts zwischen Natur, Kultur und Wirt­schaft. Daher folgt auch dieses neue Gebäude dieser Vision – es ist voll­ständig nach­haltig. Durch das verwen­dete Holz ist es wieder­auf­baubar und modular. Darüber hinaus ist das Gebäude durch die Wärme- und Kälte­speicher sowie die „PV-Anlagen“ voll­ständig energie­neutral. Die Glas­fassade sorgt für Tages­licht im kom­pletten Gebäude und auch die Innen­wände sind größten­teils transparent, um Tages­licht zu behalten und Energie für Be­leucht­ung einzusparen. Die be­grünten Dächer der Triodos Bank haben nicht nur eine isolierende und kühlende Wirkung, sondern sind auch insekten­­freundlich. Auch andere Tiere wie Fleder­­mäuse und Vögel profi­tieren von inte­grierten Nist­kästen.

Downloads
zur Referenz

Holzbau Austria: 2623 m³ Holz am Konto

01. Oktober 2021 • Birgit Gruber

Herunterladen

Mikado: Hölzerne Kathedrale mit nachhaltiger Mission

Dezember 2010 • Christine Ryll

Herunterladen

Weiterführende
Themen

Individuelles Brettschichtholz

Mit unserem Brett­schicht­holz (BSH) lassen sich indivi­duelle Konstruk­tionen bauen, denn die Bau­teile stellen wir in nahezu jeder Form und Größe her – ganz nach Ihren Wünschen. Die technisch getrock­neten Holz­bretter werden dafür durch Keil­zinkung zu langen Lamel­len zu­sammen­gefügt. Entdecken Sie unser viel­fältiges Brett­schicht­holz.

Massiver und vielfältiger Elementbau

Ob Dach, Decke oder Wand – X-LAM ist vielfältig einsetz­bar. Unser X-LAM Element­bau gibt Ihnen große Frei­heiten bei der Gebäude­gestaltung. Die flexibel einsetz­baren Elemente aus Brett­sperr­holz werden maß­geschnei­dert für Sie her­gestellt und lassen sich schnell und einfach montieren.

Büro- und Verwaltungsgebäude aus Holz

Erfahren Sie mehr über das Bauen von Büro- und Verwal­tungs­gebäuden aus Holz.

DERIX
Ansprechpartner finden

Ihr Partner für den Holzbau

Mit DERIX als starkem Partner an Ihrer Seite setzen Sie Ihre Bauprojekte nachhaltig und effizient um.

DERIX
Premium

Exklusive Services, Newsletter & Co.

Registrieren Sie sich jetzt und erhalten Sie exklusiven Zugriff auf umfangreiche Fachinhalte. Nutzen Sie unsere hilfreichen, digitalen Service-Tools wie unseren X-LAM Designer und bleiben Sie mit unserem Newsletter gut informiert.